Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
A Cleminou in England !
23 juin 2008

And here is Portsmouth!

Well I was so right to be excited!!!

It was just AWSOME!!!

DSC00593

The first surprise was to see Iris arriving with another girl, who turned out to be Enken, a German girl from Guildford who had contacted me through meetup and that I wanted to meet! Could I be any luckier? =)
So after meeting with Iris and Enken at the station (they had come a little late because they have to take a bus and then the train...) we decided to go to the Historic Dockyard to visit all the ships and the museums (after all, it is what Portsmouth is famous for!) So after taking a ticket (14£ to do everything with some "attractions" unlimited for a year...!) we first went on the HMS Warrior and then we split because Enken and Iris wanted to do a bit of shopping and after taking their number to be able to meet for lunch we continued the visit and went in the Naval Museum to see paintings of Nelson and play little games for kids! We then went on the HMS Victory, Nelson's ship on which he died. We also saw the Mary Rose Museum, a museum about a very old ship called the Mary Rose which sank during the reign of Henry VIII (hence all the "Henry VIII" pictures!!!).
All of that was very funny: we took lots of pictures with pirates and disguised as Henry VIII and all and we even learned a few things! (although I must admit I don't really remember most of them...!)

n563015371_3330175_9665 DSC00550 DSC00574

After all that visiting we were really hungry and so we met Iris and Enken at the bottom of the Spinnaker Tower which is a famous big white modern tower in Portsmouth that goes up to 110m I think and apparently gives you a splendid view of the area... I'm not quite sure yet if I'm going to do it or not because it's something like 6-7£ and I don't think I want to spend them on that.
Anyway! We decided to have a quick and cheap lunch so we went to a Subway (it was my first time!) and we didn't spend more than 4£ which is quite good considering we usually spend around 10£...

We decided after that to do a bit of shopping in Gunwharf Quays (well yeah! Iris and Enken had already done some but Marie, Steph and I, serious as we are, we hadn't because we had been visiting!) and I bought a book that I wanted to read for a long time: The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, a book about Afghanistan and "a story of fathers and sons, friendship a,d betrayal, and the casualties of fate". And I've already begun it, which is why I'm now in a hurry to finish this article because I want to read it!!!

DSC00587 DSC00590

After that we went on the Millennium Promenade, which is a walk that took us along the seaside and all the way to the old town and the forts! With all the wind we even got wet by some really high waves but since the weather was really beautiful it didn't really matter! Except maybe for Enken and Iris who were screaming every time the waves were coming!!!

We ended up waling a lot in fact but it was really worth it! The views were splendid and we had quite a lot of pause which enable us to take pictures and simply to enjoy ourselves! We also saw Portsmouth Roman Cathedral which was built in fact during the 90s and wasn't as beautiful inside as we thought it would be but well, it was still fun!

DSC00606 DSC00602 DSC00613

I don't think I would have enjoyed that day without the girls and if I had been on my own, and I hope we can do that again sometimes!!! Because I loooooove taking pictures and because Steph loves that too and also because the more the merrier! but above all because I've met wonderful people...! ;-)

DSC00597
Enken, Marie, Steph and Iris.

Next week end we're going to Oxford, although Enken can't come she's going to a concert in the North and Steph is only staying one day because she works on Sunday... but anyway, I'm sure we'll have fun and I'll make sure we take lots of pictures! Because, I mean, it's Oxford we're talking about here!!!

Can't wait!

=)

Publicité
Commentaires
A Cleminou in England !
Publicité
Archives
Publicité